John Sandford – Chosen Prey

John Sandford – Chosen Prey is the 12th of the Prey books that feature Lucas Davenport.

The publication date of this novel was May 7, 2001.

Chosen Prey book description

He desired women. All kinds, all shapes, all sizes. He would fix on a woman and build imaginary stories around her. Some of the women he knew well, others not at all. Most of them faded quickly. Only a few became objects of desire.

An art history professor and writer and cheerful pervert, James Qatar had a hobby: he took secret photographs of women and turned them into highly sexual drawings.

One day, he took the hobby a step further and… well, one thing led to another, and he had to kill her. A man in his position couldn’t be too careful, after all. And you know something? He liked it.

Already faced with a welter of confusion in his personal life, Deputy Chief Lucas Davenport decides to take this case himself, hoping that some straightforward police work will clear his head, but as the trail begins to take some unexpected turns, it soon becomes clear that nothing is straightforward about this killer.

The man is learning as he goes, Lucas realizes, taking great strides forward with each murder. He is becoming a monster – and Lucas may have no choice but to walk right into his lair.

Chosen Prey

John Sandford Chosen Prey

Click the book cover to read reviews of Chosen Prey on Amazon